Central Arkansas’ Myers, Stephen F. Austin’s Walls Claim F.L. McDonald Scholarships

first_imgWalls’ lengthy list of academic achievements include being named to the 20th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Academic All-Star Team for a second consecutive time and being tabbed a National Football Foundation (NFF) National Scholar-Athlete. He was the third student-athlete in Southland history to earn College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-America® of the Year honors and was named an Academic All-American® First Team selection for a second time. Myers and Walls will be recognized May 22 at the annual Southland Honors Dinner and Ceremony at the Westin Stonebriar Hotel in Frisco. Earlier this spring, Walls was named one of two recipients of the 17th Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Scholar-Athlete of the Year scholarships. Additionally, Myers is a member of Alpha Chi National College Honor Society and Sigma Alpha Pi – two programs where induction is based on GPA. She is also a member of the National Society of Leadership and Success. He was named the Southland Football Student-Athlete of the Year for the second straight year in January. Myers and Walls were chosen from more than a dozen soon-to-graduate or already graduated student-athletes. Applicants must have at least a 3.75 GPA and have lettered at least two seasons at the nominating institution. Each recipient must enroll in a full-time graduate program within one year of receiving the award. Kate Myers, Central ArkansasMyers, a senior infielder from Tulsa, Okla. (Jenks High School), is a biology (pre-med) major with a perfect 4.0 GPA. The 2017 All-Conference selection received Honorable Mention recognition this year and was an All-Academic Team pick in 2017. Myers is the captain of the Bears softball team competing in this week’s conference tournament. The F.L. McDonald Scholarship is the league’s ultimate academic honor for graduating student-athletes. The award is presented annually to one female and one male student-athlete and is selected by the Southland Conference Faculty Athletic Representative Committee. The $5,000 scholarship must be applied to graduate study at an institution of the recipient’s choice. During her time in Conway, Myers has participated in a variety of community relations activities: Samaritan’s Feet Mississippi Flood Relief Collection Arkansas Dream Center Ronald McDonald House UCA softball camps Participating in bingo games at St. Andrew’s Place Nursing Home Reading at Ida Burns Elementary School Miracle League Softball Student Mobilization Organization (STUMO)center_img The former safety plans to attend Purdue University to pursue a graduate degree in mechanical engineering with the goal of working at Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Research Laboratory. Last summer, Walls completed an internship at the facility, returning to Johns Hopkins in January to garner more experience before resuming his formal studies next fall in West Lafayette. She plans to attend the Oklahoma State College of Osteopathic Medicine. The award was established in 1996 in memory of Dr. F.L. McDonald, a former president of Lamar University and 1999 Southland Hall of Honor inductee. McDonald was serving as Lamar’s president in 1963 when the Southland Conference was established. He is considered one of the league’s founding fathers. Additionally, Walls was a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy and the STATS FCS Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award. He was involved in a variety of campus and community activities: Student instructor for SFA 101 (freshman orientation course) Big Event – a campus-wide community service initiative Pearland High School graduate volunteer Read to Succeed program (elementary students) Elderly/disabled assistant Gulf Coast Regional Blood donor and nutrition and life skills advocate Marlon Walls, Stephen F. AustinWalls, a four-year letter winner from Pearland, Texas (Pearland High School), graduated in December with a 4.0 GPA in engineering physics. He earned his diploma in just three and a half years while lettering in football all four years in Nacogdoches. FRISCO, Texas – The Southland Conference announced the two student-athletes receiving the 2018 F.L. McDonald Postgraduate Scholarships: University of Central Arkansas softball player Kate Myers and former Stephen F. Austin football player Marlon Walls. Commissioner Tom Burnett made the announcement Tuesday.last_img

Leave a Reply