National championship awards highlight Wilwood Engineering partnership with IMCA

first_imgCAMARILLO, Calif. ­­– Top drivers in national standings for five IMCA divisions earn product awards again in 2016 from Wilwood Engineering.The Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified, IMCA Sunoco Stock Car, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod and Scoggin-Dickey Parts Center Southern SportMod national champions all re­ceive front brake rotors from the Camarillo, Calif., manufacturer.The IMCA Late Model national champion receives a set of front and rear wide hubs.Second through fifth place finishers in all five divisions get $100 product certificates. All awards will be given during the national IMCA banquet in November, or mailed beginning the following week from the IMCA home office.“As one of the leading sanctioning bodies in the United States, it’s easy to see why Wilwood part­ners with IMCA,” said Jim “Spike” Logue, race sales engineer at Wilwood. “The IMCA brand has enjoyed continued growth over the years and we look forward to supporting and educating drivers on the best braking solutions for their race car.”This is the sixth season for the Wilwood partnership.“We pride ourselves on partnering with industry leaders in their respective fields and no one special­izes in braking solutions better than Wilwood,” IMCA Marketing Director Kevin Yoder stated. “We’re honored to have them as part of the IMCA support team and look forward to a great season.”Information about the complete line of Wilwood products is available by calling 805 388-1188, on Facebook and at the website.last_img read more

The Final Ride at Stuart ends with Marriott in victory lane

first_imgSTUART, Iowa (July 2) – Everything about the Ron Little Memorial was big. Both Modified and Stock Car events were part of the Arnold Motor Supply Midwest Madness Tour. Northern SportMods – 1. Doug Smith; 2. Thomas Egenberger; 3. Brayton Carter; 4. Hunter Longnecker; 5. Jake Sachau; 6. Dylan VanWyk; 7. Cody Olsen; 8. Daniel Fellows; 9. Colton Nel­son; 10. Daniel Baudler; 11. Kyle Bentley; 12. Austin Kaplan; 13. Tyler Inman; 14. Kody Havens; 15. David Schwartz; 16. Dusty Masolini; 17. Brett Vanderheiden; 18. Garrett Nelson; 19. Brandon Patava; 20. Ronnie Hults; 21. Blair Simmons; 22. Ed Hamilton; 23. Mitchell Morris; 24. BryBryan Morris. Jeff Aikey came from tenth to second in his first ever visit to Stuart with 14th starting Jesse Sob­bing third, Most fourth and Laney fifth. Dubbed The Final Ride by members of the late IMCA Modified driver’s family, the main event saw Mar­riott and Travis Hatcher show the way, with Marriott leading Josh Most and Hatcher early on. Cody Laney advanced to third on lap four and with three and even four wide racing back in the pack it was still Marriott out front at the halfway point. Lapped traffic started around this time, but Marriott was smooth and strong as he went on to lead the entire way to pick up the top check. The Missouri speedster was already qualifier for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.  A track record 141 cars took to the track Tuesday for the 20th and final event at Stuart Speedway. Forty-seven of those entries were IMCA Modifieds and Hunter Marriott wrote his name in as the $2,000 feature winner of a 30-lapper that ran green to checkers. Doug Smith followed the mid-program fireworks display with an impressive show of his own, win­ning the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature and $1,000. Feature Results  Buck Schafroth took the lead early and stayed there to the $1,000 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car check­ers. Sport Compacts – 1. Chris Vannausdle; 2. Ramsey Meyer; 3. Tyler Fiebelkorn; 4. Mitchell Bunch; 5. Colton Garside; 6. Shannon Mahlberg; 7. Anthony Clark; 8. Bruce Hower; 9. Curtis Master­son; 10. James Reeves; 11. Nikole Kimmel; 12. Owen Richards; 13. Kolby Sabin; 14. Hunter Patrick; 15. Ryan Barnes; 16. Logan Richards; 17. Terry Hurley; 18. Michael Love. A caution set up a four-lap dash to the checkers with Brandon Pruitt and then Mike Nichols challeng­ing before Schafroth took the checkers. Modifieds – 1. Hunter Marriott; 2. Jeff Aikey; 3. Jesse Sobbing; 4. Josh Most; 5. Cody Laney; 6. Tim Ward; 7. Travis Hatcher; 8. Nick Roberts; 9. Chris Abelson; 10. Todd Shute; 11. Josh May; 12. Josh Gilman; 13. Shane DeMey; 14. Kollin Hibdon; 15. Jacob Hobscheidt; 16. Randy Foote; 17. Ethan Braaksma; 18. Ryan Jenkins; 19. Jesse Dennis; 20. Brandon Spanjer; 21. Matt Bonine; 22. Austin Howes; 23. Austin Kuehl; 24. Joel Bushore.  Hobby Stocks – 1. Solomon Bennett; 2. Chuck Madden Jr.; 3. Jack Phillips; 4. Zach Hem­mingsen; 5. Adam Ayers; 6. Jordan Androy; 7. Corey Madden; 8. Matthew Wahl; 9. Jamie Coady; 10. Tanner Dixon; 11. Dustin Thompson; 12. Miciah Hidlebaugh; 13. Jerry Richards; 14. Dallas Larson; 15. Richard Pahlka Jr.; 16. Dylan Nelson; 17. Nick Foster; 18. Ralph Jones.  By Josh Reynolds Eleventh starting Solomon Bennett topped the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature and Chris Vannausdle won the Mach-1 Sport Compact main event.  Stock Cars – 1. Buck Schafroth; 2. Mike Nichols; 3. Brandon Pruitt; 4. Kyle Brown; 5. Chris Pruitt; 6. Marcus Fagan; 7. Daniel Hilsabeck; 8. Damon Murty; 9. Jeremy Gettler; 10. Josh Dan­iels; 11. Robert Stofer; 12. Gary Bass; 13.  Dusty Van Horn; 14. Mike Albertsen; 15. Dan Macken­thun; 16. Chad LeGere; 17. Keith Simmons; 18. Kurt Hansen; 19. Corey Piffer; 20. Bryan Snell; 21. Todd VanEaton; 22. Brock Badger; 23. Craig Carlson; 24. Mike Stapleton. Hunter Marriott won the 20th annual, and final, Ron Little Memorial feature for IMCA Modifieds at Stuart Speedway. (Photo by Jim Zimmerline)last_img read more

Syracuse women’s basketball stays at No. 20 in AP poll

first_imgBack-to-back victories last week helped Syracuse stay inside the Associated Press Top 25 poll for the fifth straight week of the season. The No. 20 Orange beat previously-ranked Michigan State last Wednesday before cruising past Central Connecticut State, 95-63, on Sunday afternoon.The Orange (6-3) has won two straight for the first time since the season’s opening two contests, when SU reached the No. 14 ranking. In Week 3, after a 3-0 start, SU moved up to No. 11, the highest rank in program history.Three losses in four games followed, bumping Syracuse to No. 20, where it has now sat the last two weeks. Senior guard and Naismith watch list honoree Alexis Peterson leads the Atlantic Coast Conference in scoring with 23.1 points per game. Brittney Sykes averages 17.8 points per game and Briana Day 12.9 to lead SU.Seven ACC teams placed in the Top 25. Notre Dame lost the top spot it held for four weeks to four-time defending national champion Connecticut. No. 7 Florida State, No. 8 Louisville, No. 14 Miami, No. 20 Syracuse, No. 21 Duke and No. 25 Virginia Tech round out the ranking.Syracuse hosts two teams this week: Coppin State (0-7) on Wednesday at 11 a.m. and Niagara (3-4) on Saturday at 3 p.m.AdvertisementThis is placeholder text Comments Facebook Twitter Google+ Published on December 5, 2016 at 3:17 pm Contact Matthew: | @MatthewGut21last_img read more